Do you have any questions about our products? Many questions come up again and again. We have compiled the answers to some of the most frequently asked questions (FAQ) for you here.

 

If any of your questions remain unanswered, please get in touch with us! We look forward to it:  Contact form.

What does the best before date mean?
Packaged food must carry a best before date (BBE). This indicates the minimum length of time during which products retain their specific properties if kept in sealed packaging and under proper storage conditions. This includes not only perfect microbiological quality but also sensory properties, such as odour and taste. With the best before date Griesson - de Beukelaer guarantees that the product's characteristics will remain unchanged until the date specified.

Where can I find the nutritional values for your products?
Nutritional information can be found on all our product packaging and always relates to the respective product. You will also find the nutritional values in the respective product descriptions.  Please click here to obtain additional background information to better understand the nutritional information.

Where can people with allergies find information?
Griesson - de Beukelaer declares allergens on its packaging in accordance with applicable food legislation, so that people with allergies can quickly find out about ingredients. Allergens are highlighted in bold in the list of ingredients. Possible cross-contamination with allergens is also specified in bold on a voluntary basis.

Allergens can also be found in the biscuit finder and in the nutritional values section of each respective product.

Please always look at the information given on the respective product's packaging, as recipes can change.

Which products can I eat despite being lactose intolerant?
Currently, we have only a few bakery products in our range that are made without milk products, such as Griesson Soft Cake with dark chocolate (orange and raspberry), Griesson Soft Cake Orange Minis, DeBeukelaer Cereola Hafer-Cookie as well as DeBeukelaer Ice Cream Cones. However, small traces of lactose cannot be ruled out due to possible cross-contamination. In this case we have added the following note to the list of ingredients: "May contain traces of milk."

Which products can I eat despite being gluten intolerant and / or having a cereal allergy?
All of our products are made with grains which contain gluten or which may contain traces thereof. We have listed the specific source (such as wheat) for all ingredients as part of the list of ingredients. Furthermore, cross-contamination with all other types of grain is possible, as contamination can occur in the field or in the flour mills. Unfortunately, none of our products are therefore suitable for people with gluten intolerance and for people who are allergic to only certain cereals.

I have a peanut allergy. How safe are your products for peanut allergy sufferers?
We currently do not have any products in our range that contain peanuts as part of their formulation.

Nevertheless, a slight contamination of ingredients with peanut elements may occur during the manufacturing process and the production of raw materials, this is known as cross-contamination. In this case we have added the following note to the list of ingredients: "May contain traces of peanuts" (e.g. DeBeukelaer Erfrischungsstäbchen, Griesson Choco Sticks).

Peanuts are not actually classified as nuts and therefore are always listed separately in the list of ingredients / in the allergen information, when they are or could be contained in a product.


I have a nut / almond allergy. Which products can I eat?
Few of our products contain hazelnuts or almonds as recipe ingredients. If a bakery product contains hazelnuts or almonds (e.g. Chocolate Mountain Cookies Big Nut or Griesson Café Musica), we have declared this in the list of ingredients.

However, on rare occasions products, which according to the recipe contain neither hazelnuts nor almonds, may contain traces of nuts / almonds. In particular this concerns all products that contain chocolate, where cross-contamination with nut elements is likely. In this case we have added the following note to the list of ingredients: "May contain traces of nuts."

I have an egg allergy. Which products can I eat?
Many baked goods contain egg products as an ingredient, this is also true for most of the Griesson - de Beukelaer products. In order to provide consumers with comprehensive information about the composition of our products, we have listed all of the ingredients used in the list of ingredients. Therefore, if a recipe did use egg products, this would be declared on the packaging.
 
Among the products currently being produced without egg ingredients are for example Leicht & Cross crispbread, Griesson Choc & Milk, Schoko Kekse Milk and Dark Chocolate. However, during production minor contamination, so-called cross-contamination can occur with egg products, whenever bakery products containing eggs are produced on the same production line. This cross-contamination cannot be completely ruled out by us. In this case we have added the following note to the list of ingredients: "May contain traces of eggs" (e.g. DeBeukelaer ChocOlé, Erfrischungsstäbchen, Griesson Shaun das Schaf Mini Butter Biscuits).

What does the term E471 stand for?
E471 is an emulsifier (mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids).
The emulsifier E471 used by us is always entirely of plant origin [e.g. glycerides of fatty acids from rapeseed, soyabean or sunflower oil]. In addition, we do not use additives of animal origin elsewhere either.

Useful information about our products with regard to consumers of Muslim faith

Many Muslim consumers shun pork- or alcohol-related ingredients because of their faith.

We use animal ingredients in nearly all of our products, such as dairy and egg products. However, we do not use ingredients sourced from dead animals or from pork / beef.

Based on the information provided to us by our raw material suppliers, we cannot rule out the possibility that pork gelatin has been used as part of the manufacturing process, i.e. to clarify the juices used in our Soft Cake variations. However, no gelatin is contained in the products themselves.
The emulsifiers used by us are all of plant origin. The whey products used are produced microbially or enzymatically.
Alcohol may be used in small amounts as a carrier in flavourings. However, this alcohol evaporates during baking.
Below you will find a list of products that based on the information provided to us are entirely free of alcohol (even in the flavourings):

  • DeBeukelaer butter biscuit
  • DeBeukelaer ChocOlé (milk chocolate, dark chocolate, caramel)
  • DeBeukelaer Cereola Der Kernige, Cocoa biscuit, Oat flakes cookie
  • DeBeukelaer Erfrischungsstäbchen orange-lemon
  • DeBeukelaer Feine Bäckerei Florentines milk chocolate, Shortbread
  • Uncle Cracker Tourinos (tangy gouda cheess, black pepper and sea salt, rosemary and sea salt)
  • Griesson Keks Geknusper Caramel
  • Griesson Twist 'n' Snack (cheese and salt)
  • Griesson Duo Keks (cocoa, minis)
  • Griesson Shaun the Sheep Mini Butter Biscuits
  • Griesson Soft Cake Orange Vollmilch
  • Griesson Schoko Keks (milk chocolate, minis, dark chocolate)
  • Griesson Schoko-Waffel (milk chocolate, dark chocolate)
  • Griesson Black5 (vanilla)
  • Griesson Chocolate Mountain Cookies Big Nut, Crispy Brownie
  • Griesson Choc & Milk
  • Griesson Choco Sticks, Choco Sticks white
  • Griesson Erfrischungssticks
  • LEICHT&CROSS (wholemeal, rye, wheat, vital, fine-sweet, crispy wafer)
  • Prinzen Rolle (Cocoa, Minis, Choco Duo)
  • Wurzener Extra (milk chocolate, dark chocolate)


Do your products contain gelatin?
No, none of our products contain gelatin. However, based on the information provided to us by our raw material suppliers, we cannot rule out the possibility that gelatin has been used as part of the manufacturing process, i.e. to clarify the juices used in our Soft Cake variations.

Are your products suitable for vegetarians?
We use animal ingredients in nearly all of our products, such as dairy and egg products. However, we do not use ingredients sourced from dead animals or from pork / beef. Based on the information provided to us by our raw material suppliers, we furthermore cannot rule out the possibility that pork gelatin has been used as part of the manufacturing process, i.e. to clarify the juices used in our Soft Cake variations. However, no gelatin is contained in the products themselves.

Are your products suitable for vegans?
Only our products DeBeukelaer Decor on Ice Eistüten (ice cream cones) and LEICHT&CROSS Knusperwaffel are suitable for vegans. All other products contain milk or egg products and therefore are not vegan-friendly.

Where can I find information about sustainable raw materials?
Information on palm fat, UTZ certified cocoa, eggs and organic raw materials can be found here.

Do you use genetically modified ingredients in the production of your products?
All ingredients, additives and flavourings used in the production of our products are neither derived from genetically modified organisms nor do they contain them. The products are therefore not subject to labelling requirements according to Regulation (EC) 1829/2003 and Regulation (EC) 1830/2003.

Bookmarks

 

close
 
Griesson
DeBeukelaer
Prinzen Rolle
Wurzener
Uncle Cracker
LEICHT&CROSS